Day 18 – Go Nevada…

I wish I could say this news article surprised me or even came as a shock. It was neither… San Francisco Chronicle reports that “[a]n annual survey by Education Week magazine ranks Nevada 50th in the nation for the quality of its public K-12 education.” The full article can be found here. For years, the state hovered perilously close to the last place – usually coming in as #48. The reasons for becoming the least educationally advanced state in the nation are many and they go too far back to recall now in this tangential post of an unknown blog. Suffice it to say that at least now I have a fairly good explanation as to why there are no educational stores in Nevada. I’m just guessing here, but I’ve got a sneaking suspicion that the top state in the nation – Massachusetts – would have been a lot better for my challenge, logistically and otherwise. So far, every Nevadan I’ve told about my chem lab project responded with some variation of, “Gonna make your own drugs, huh?” I realize it’s just a joke, but each joke has some truth in it…

Leave a comment